top of page
Search
  • by Tanja Mujkanovic

DIY Ankara Hoop Earrings

Updated: Oct 19, 2020


Do you ever see yourself looking for earrings that would match your outfit? I know I do, plus I love being able to make what I like and how I like it. I love using wax fabric as it gives perfect look on my earrings due to stiffness plus colors are so beatifuly vibrant.

Since I posted my Ankara Hoop Earrings on line, I have got amazing replies from all of you and few asked if there was a tutorial on how to make these. So without further ado, here are steps.

What you will need:

- Fabric 4" wide, 11" long

- Pair of Ear Hoops

Ear Hoops that I use are ones where I can easily separate top wire so I can slide fabric or beads onto the hoop. I buy these at Joann's store, 14pk, 41mm silver for $2.99. But I always use their coupons 40-50% off if these are not on the sale

- Pair of Ear Wires

- Pair of Earring Back

- Small Pliers

- Glue

- Thread to match

- Scissors

Here is the Earring Hoop that I buy, see how back and Front looks like, so wire on one side can easily slide out.

Let's start with fabric.

Cut your fabric so you have 2 pieces 11" length, 2" wide.

I prefer to fold my fabric, mark 2" and cut.

Now you have 2 fabric pieces 11" long, 2" wide.

Fold each piece length wise

Set your machine for straight stitch.

Stitch close to folded side, leave just enough space so you can slide earring hoop through it.

Here is both pieces showing straight stitch on the folded side.

Now to fun part, this will take little bit of patience, as you will start sliding fabric onto the hoop.

First open the hoop, by sliding out wire (This is looking from the back of the hoop)

Slowly start sliding fabric onto the hoop, be patient as it takes a minute or so to complete this.

Yaay, your second step is completed and it already looks great.

Now, slowly slide wire back into it's place. This is where you still have to be patient as you will need to take pliers to bend exposed wire little bit so it doesn't slide out.

To do this push wire little longer so you can easily grab it with wires and slightly bend it.

ALMOST DONE, AND IT ALREADY LOOKS FANTASTIC.

You can leave it like this as full circle and just add ear wires or you can proceed to next step by sliding fabric just little bit so it gives vision of half circle.

If you want to proceed to half circle, slide your fabric little bit about an 1" on each side.

Support it with clips, so it doesn't move.

Now you can add little bit of clear glue on each side, just a drop on hoop/fabric, so it will prevent fabric to move. Let it dry, before you remove clips. I am using clear gorilla glue so my drying time was about 10 min.

Your earrings are now ready. Hope you enjoy making and wearing these it as much as I do.

Have fun !

Thank you for reading and happy crafting.

XOXO Tanja


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page